top of page
  • Writer's pictureKabir

My role as an Audio engineer in music production for the band Flora Link.


Key roles-

Artist liaison– communication with artist and with members of my team to organise dates and times to record.

- Most of the communication to organise dates and times has worked out well besides events which made a member of team not be able to make a session because of illness.

I also had quite clear communication with the band as we were recording to ensure that they were happy with the recorded takes and also if the needed to record from a certain spot.

I would make sure that we were clear on where and continue to record from the same spot if needed so that the artists wouldn’t get confused.

Some of the communication for who was editing what ended up quite badly as myself and another member of the team didn’t make it to a class and resulted in us not understanding what the group member said. This resulted in all 3 members editing the same tracks, and causing us to work harder than we need to.

I am a very patient person in general so I don’t end up making the musician feel rushed if times starts running out. I just remind them in a way in which they won’t lose the feeling of the music.

Assistant engineer- setting up microphones, Patch bay operations, talk back operator.

Setting up microphones was quite easy for me as I am used to the process of phase checking amps and drum mic’s. There were times when I was moving microphones around and the team inside the control room weren’t quite sure about it so I did have to come in and see for myself. This led to using up more time than expected but we got through it with time to spare- good risk mitigation planning.

Using the Patch bay was quite simple as I am familiar with the standard practises of using them. i.e. half normalled and fully normalled sections of patch bay.

Chief engineer- controlling the board during sound check for guitars

I am at a level now when using sound consoles has become like riding a bike and because of this I can quickly and effectively check signals, troubleshoot any problems very easily.

Producer- suggesting some harmonies

Suggesting harmonies ended up creating more interest in the music that was created, but they were some things which held back the performance. One of these things was the singer trying to figure out harmonies and another was that without having reverb in their headphones it made it harder for them to hold the not confidently. This resulted in of the harmonies not being used.

Pro tools operator-

Very good at using pro tools and familiar with it so we worked well in knowing shortcuts that allow for tracks to be created quickly and also creating tracks and tempo before even recording as pre production helped loads. Using the SSL Duality console also made recording easy as it has a record and play button which eliminates having to use the computer as much.

Things to do next time-

Create a really nice headphone mix, put reverb on vocals in head phone mix. Communicate as a group more clearly.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

mastering blog

Mastering project reflection Overall what I did - Level out - Transitions - P and Q editing / markers - Fades - EQ on individual tracks...

Commenti


bottom of page